main content starts here

Summer 2022 Athletic Opportunities

May 19, 2022

Why are we having a robust program?

This summer the South Glens Falls CSD will offer a variety of athletic programs for students of all ages. We are excited to provide this opportunity once again for the students of the South Glens Falls Communities.

 

What will be the format?

The format of the programs are listed by athletic program. All programs this year are free to students! 

 

REGISTER HERE (CLICK)!!!

 

Overall questions can be directed to Matt Griep: griepm@sgfcsd.org.
Specific programming questions should be directed to the stated contacts below.

 

General Focus

 

Strength and Conditioning

Coach: Jason Spector
Grades: 8-12
Dates: July 28 – August 11
Specifics: Incoming Grades 8-12: Tuesday, Thursday; 7 -10 a.m.
Place: High School Weight Room
Contact: spectorj@sgfcsd.org

 

Fall Season Focus

 

Cross Country – Running

Coach: Maria Whitney, Tom Myott
Grades: 4-5, 6-8, 9-12
Dates: July 11 – 15
Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 4-5: 2-3 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 6-8: 3-4 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 9-12: 4-5 p.m.

Place: Moreau Rec (The Bowl)
Contact: whitneym@sgfcsd.org, myottt@sgfcsd.org

 

Field Hockey

Coach: Mary Ponda
Grades: 3-5, 6-8, 9-12
Dates: July 5 – August 10
Specifics: 

  • Incoming Grades 3-6:  Tuesday, Wednesday; 9:30-10:45 a.m.
  • Incoming Grades 7-12: Tuesday, Wednesday; 8-9:15 a.m.

Place: Middle School field hockey field
Contact: pondm@sgfcsd.org

 

Football

Coach: Matt Howard
Grades: 6-8, 9-12
Dates: July 5 – August 12

Specifics: 

  • Incoming Grades 6-8: Monday and Thursday; 5:30-7 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 9-12: Tuesday and Friday; 9-10:30 a.m.
                                          Monday and Thursday; 7-8 p.m.

Place: High School practice football field
Contact: howardm@sgfcsd.org

 

Golf

Coach: Mike Yeager
Grades: 5-8, 7-12
Dates: July 5 – August 4

Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 5-8: Monday, Wednesday; 12:30-3:30 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 9-12: Tuesday, Thursday; 9 a.m.-12 p.m.

Place: Airway Meadows
Contact: yeagerm@sgfcsd.org

 

Boys Soccer

Coach: Travis Birkholz
Grades: 6-8, 9-12
Dates: July 11 – August 4; August 8 – 11
Specifics:

  • First Session:

    • Incoming Grades 6-8: Tuesday and Thursday (July 11 – August 4); 5-6:15 p.m.
    • Incoming Grades 9-12: Tuesday and Thursday (July 11 – August 4); 6:15-7:30 p.m.
  • Second Session:

    • Incoming Grades 6-8: August 8 – August 11; 5-6:15 p.m.
    • Incoming Grades 9-12: August 8 – August 11; 6:15-7:30 p.m. 

Place: High School practice field
Contact: birkholzt@sgfcsd.org

 

Girls Soccer

Coach: Stephen Philo
Grades: 6-8, 9-12
Dates: July 5 – August 11

Specifics: 

  • First Session:

    • Incoming Grades 4-6: Tuesday and Thursday; 6-7 p.m.
    • Incoming Grades 7-12: Tuesday and Thursday; 6:30-8 p.m.
  • Second Session:

    • Incoming Grades 9-12: August 8 – August 11; 6:30-8 p.m. 

Place: High School practice field
Contact: philos@sgfcsd.org

 

Tennis (Boys and Girls)

Coach: Patrick Cronin and Mike St. Louis
Grades: 3-6, 7-12
Dates: July 11 – August 10

Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 3-6: Tuesday and Thursday; 5-6 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 7-12: Tuesday and Thursday; 6-7 p.m.

Place: High School Tennis Complex
Contact: croninp@sgfcsd.org, stlouism@sgfcsd.org

 

Volleyball

Coach: Alicia Collier
Grades: 6-8, 9-12
Dates: June 28 – July 21

Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 6-8: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday; 9-10:30 a.m.
  • Incoming Grades 9-12: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday; 7:30-9 a.m.

Place: High School Gym
Contact: colliera@sgfcsd.org

 

Winter Season Focus

Boys Basketball

Coach: Chris Cottrell
Grades: 3-5, 6-8, 9-12
Dates: July 12 – August 18

Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 3-5: August 1 – August 4: 1-3 p.m; Middle School Gym
  • Incoming Grades 6-8: July 12 – August 18: Monday/Thursday (12-2 p.m.); High School Gym
  • Incoming Grades 9-12:  July 12 – August 18: Monday/Thursday (7-10 a.m.); High School Gym

Place: See above details
Contact: cottrellc@sgfcsd.org

 

Girls Basketball

Coach: Mike Wolfe
Grades: 3-6, 7-12
Dates: July 5 – August 12

Specifics: 

  • Incoming Grades 3-6: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday; 5-6 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 7-12: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday; 6-7:30 p.m.

Place: High School Gym
Contact: wolfem@sgfcsd.org

 

Cheerleading

Coach: Kathy Potter
Grades: Incoming 8-12
Dates: July 26 – July 28
Times: 12-5 p.m.
Place: Middle School Gym
Contact: kpotter@hillcrestfoodsne.com

 

Wrestling (TBD)

 

Spring Season Focus

 

Baseball (TBD)

 

Boys Lacrosse

Coach: Matt Germain
Grades: K-12
Dates: TBD
Specifics: TBD
Place: TBD
Contact: TBD

 

Girls Lacrosse

Coach: Rachel Kopels, Jason Vittengl
Grades: 7-12
Dates: June 27 – June 30; July 7 – July 28
Specifics: Incoming Grades 7-12: Monday, Thursday; 8 a.m.-10 a.m.
Place: Girls Lacrosse Varsity Field
Contact: kopelsr@sgfcsd.org 

 

Softball (TBD)

 

Tennis (Boys and Girls)

Coach: Patrick Cronin and Mike St. Louis
Grades: 3-6, 7-12
Dates: July 11 – August 10
Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 3-6: Tuesday and Thursday; 5-6 p.m.
  • Incoming Grades 7-12: Tuesday and Thursday; 6-7 p.m.

Place: High School Tennis Complex
Contact: croninp@sgfcsd.org, stlouism@sgfcsd.org

 

Track & Field – Modified

Coach: Cindy Marshall and Lance Purvis
Grades: 4-5, 6-8
Dates: July 11 – July 22
Specifics:

  • Incoming Grades 4-5: July 11 – July 15; 9-10:30 a.m.
  • Incoming Grades 6-8: July 18 – July 22; 9-10:30 a.m.

Place: High School Track
Contact: marshallc@sgfcsd.org, purvisl@sgfcsd.org

 

Track & Field – Throwing

Coach: Tom Hansen
Grades: 8-12
Dates: June 21 – July 26
Specifics:  Incoming Grades 8-12: Tuesday; 6:30-8 p.m.
Place: Tanglewood Elementary
Contact: hansent@sgfcsd.org

 

Track & Field – Vaulting

Coach(es): Tom Myott
Grades: 9-12
Dates: July 12 – August 9
Specifics: Incoming Grades 9-12: Tuesdays; 9-11 a.m.
Place: High School Track
Contact: myottt@sgfcsd.org

 

Category: Ballard News, District News, Harrison Ave News, Moreau News, SGFalls HS News, Tanglewood News, Winch MS News