main content starts here

Nominees revealed for 2021 High School Musical Theatre Awards at Proctors

May 11, 2021

Winners will participate in national Jimmy Awards in June

Xander Holden

Becca Dawson

Two South Glens Falls High School students were among those who were included as nominees for the 2021 High School Musical Theatre Awards at Proctors by Proctors and The Times Union last week.

Congratulations to junior Becca Dawson was nominated for Best Actress and senior Xander Holden was nominated for Best Actor.

Despite schools being unable to perform live musicals, the School of the Performing Arts celebrates the students’ talent through an audition-based model. For the fifth annual contest, 14 schools participated plus an additional 19 individual students (not associated with a participating school) submitted a virtual audition for adjudicators in Best Actor and Best Actress categories.

Morris said, “This year more than ever, in a year of cancelled high school performances and empty auditoriums, we are taking a minute to recognize those students who would have excelled in their school’s productions.”

Students from all 14 school plus the 19 individuals who participated in the program will perform at the High School Musical Theatre Awards™ at Proctors ceremony, 7 p.m., on Saturday, May 15.

Best Actor and Best Actress winners will go on to represent the Capital Region at the Jimmy Awards™—the National High School Musical Theatre Awards™—virtually June 20-July 1.

“High school theatre is community,” said Gary Hahn, Times Union managing editor of features and sports. “And nothing showed the desire for that community than the efforts of our many talented theatre groups at schools who, against many odds, were able to find a semblance of creativity and connectedness in a year of isolation. And, in fact, were able to shine regardless.”

The 2021 High School Musical Theatre Awards at Proctors nominees are:

Best Actress

Olivia Barcomb from Hudson Fall High School
Becca Dawson from South Glens Falls High School
Olivia Hanifan from Gloversville High School
Nicaya-Isabella Rios from Guilderland High School
Bella Zonderman from Niskayuna High School

Best Actor

Adam Andrews from Granville High School Asa Dupras from Schuylerville High School
Xander Holden from South Glens Falls High School
Anthony Mucci from Mohonasen High School
Scout Santoro from Shaker High School

Category: Archive, District News, SGFalls HS News